I’m back!

Guess who’s back, back again…

Me. It’s me, hello!

Let me take you back to earlier on in the year where I set myself a target of writing a blog post every week. Yeah, no… that hasn’t happened.

And it’s not through lack of trying. I’ve been sitting down at least once a week to try and write something, but just haven’t felt like I’m in the right head space.

To bring you up to speed, I had my surgery to remove a cyst on my left ovary nearly a month ago now (I have no idea how it has been a month already). I’ll write up a proper post on how it went/ what the process is/ after effects etc. for anyone who might have an upcoming surgery want to know a bit more about it.

In short, it went well. Although I had 80% convinced myself I would die… I didn’t- which is great. I arrived at the hospital at around 11 o’clock and went down for the operation at 2/3ish so I didn’t have to wait around for too long. And then I remember very little, and woke up at 5:30 in recovery. There was a very lovely doctor who tried to show me pictures of the cyst, but unfortunately the anaesthetic made my eyes fuzzy (I thought I was blind) so I wouldn’t be able to tell you what it looked like. I was moved onto a ward, and was honestly as high as a kite and talking a lot of shit. The following 24 hours a very fuzzy, primarily comprising of: worrying about the fact I didn’t have any underwear on; trying to take a good hospital bed selfie; passing out trying to walk back from the toilet; accepting all offered drugs; and not sleeping because an old dear called Dorothy was snoring her head off (she then preceded to complain about not being able to sleep well… I beg to differ).

I was allowed to go home the next day, but the anaesthetic was wearing off and the pain was kicking in. The first week was really uncomfortable. I ended up having a key hole procedure (4 incisions in my stomach), which is far better than open surgery, but it just makes it really awkward to sit or move. It would take me a solid 5 minutes to try and get myself out bed every morning, which was just frustrating and unnecessarily time consuming. I felt really useless because all I could do was lay there, and still manage to be exhausted by the end of the day. But a few days later I went for a walk- it was still pretty painful but I was starting to get cabin fever and needed to get out and do something.

So I am now (nearly) 4 weeks post op and slowly getting back to normal. My stitches are still a bit sore, and I can definitely still feel my body playing catch up in terms of my energy levels, but all in all it’s been a pretty quick recovery.

I’m so grateful for all the lovely messages people sent me before/ after my surgery, and to those who have been checking in on me to see how I’m doing. If you messaged me straight after the surgery- I’m sorry. I have no recollection of what was said. It was the anaesthetic. Also super grateful to my family for looking after/ tolerating me over the past few weeks. I think the surgery has put my hormones out of whack, so they’ve had to deal with some intense mood swings. I’m an over- emotional person at the best of times, but I cried at Tipping Point yesterday which is a new low.

I am now in fully- fledged revision mode, along with every other student in the UK, so I can’t make any promises as to when my next post will be. But I’m happy I finally got around to writing this, and will try to make it a more frequent occurrence. I did a clothes sort out the other day and kept some old tops specifically for ‘before and after weight loss’ pic purposes (sad, I know) so I imagine that will be my next post as I near my 5 stone loss goal- woo!

Good luck to those of you revising, remember to look after yourselves and dedicate a couple of hours a day to Netflix binging (I would highly recommend 13 Reasons Why, Line of Duty (series 1 and 2 are on there) or Riverdale.

Ellie x

Leave a Reply

